Buttered Up

img_2343The distinctive taste of compound butter can bring a burst of flavor to every dish you make.This butter is great with meats, desserts, vegetables, stews, soups, bake goods and sandwiches. I want to share a few sweet and savory recipes I made. All of the butter was either soften at room temperature or placed in a food processor than in a mold and finally frozen.

img_2346

Roasted Garlic butter (left) consist of 2 teaspoons of bacon fat, 1 teaspoon of dried chopped parsley, 1 teaspoon of oregano, 1 teaspoon of chopped thyme and 2 tablespoons of chopped feta cheese.

For my Honey butter (center) I used 1/4 cup of honey, 2 tablespoons of cinnamon, 1 teaspoon of cardamon, 2 teaspoons of vanilla and a pinch of salt. I love this butter on pancakes and waffles.

Next is Cilantro butter (right) this would be great with tacos, wraps and of course several different rice dishes. My butter consist of a small amount of coarse sea salt, 2 teaspoons of low fat plain yogurt, 2 teaspoons of lime juice, 1 teaspoon of olive oil, and finely chopped fresh thyme and cilantro.

img_2348

Capers and Cranberry butter (center) taste so good I can’t wait to try it with turkey or chicken. I made the butter with 2 tablespoons of capers, 2 tablespoons of dried cranberries, 3 small chunks of finely chopped crystalized ginger, 1/4  cup of  red wine and a very small amount of cooking oil. Because of the salty taste of capers I rinsed them in cold water six to seven times before putting all of the ingredients in a pan to simmer. Then I melted the butter in a separate pan and added the ingredients.

 Italian  butter (right) consist of 2 medium cloves of minced roasted garlic, 2 teaspoons of chopped basil, 1 tablespoon of finely chopped asiago, parmesan, mozzarella and  provolone cheese plus 2 tablespoons of  Italian dressing.

Of course I had to have Brown butter (left) that nutty scent and flavor excites me every time I make it. It’s so hard to believe that taste comes from just cooking the butter, no ingredients.

 

img_2343

 Very Berry butter is frozen blackberries and strawberries with 1 teaspoon of vanilla, 2 teaspoons of confectioner sugar, 2 teaspoons of orange juice , 1 teaspoon of orange zest and a pinch of salt.

img_2344

And my last recipe is Caramel butter I added 2 tablespoons of raw sugar, 1 tablespoon of heavy cream, 1 teaspoon of  vanilla extract, 2 tablespoons of caramel flavor and a pinch of salt. Look for scrumptious recipes throughout the blog. I would love to hear about your special Compound Butter recipes.

 Thanks for stopping by.
signature

 

Leave a Reply

