Sticky Buns with Cinnamon and Nuts

 

fullsizeoutput_990

I can still remember  growing up in Pondtown waiting for the Bread Man to come by with buns, cakes, rolls and large bags of potato chips … that where actually full of potato chips. But what I really loved where the sweet Sticky Buns. Of course they were not as good as these with the buns full of drizzling warm dark brown sugar topped with sweet crunchy roasted walnuts nor did they have a dark luscious syrupy cinnamon glazes. Which I must admit was well worth the time and challenge to make.

Prep time:  2 hours  ( includes proofings)        Cook time: 1 hour         yield:  14 Buns

Ingredients:

1  package active dry yeast

 1/2 cup warm water (110° F)

1 teaspoon white sugar 

1/2 cup milk 

1/4 cup white sugar 

1/4 cup butter 

1 teaspoon salt 

2 eggs, beaten 

4 cups all-purpose flour

 3/4 cup butter 

3/4 cup dark  brown sugar 

1 cup chopped walnuts,  

 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon 

 

Directions:

In a small bowl I dissolved 1 teaspoon of sugar and yeast in warm water for about 10 minutes. Then I warmed the milk in a small saucepan until it bubbled then removed it from the heat and mixed a 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 cup butter and salt and stirred until melted, then I left it to cool. In a large bowl I combined the yeast mixture, milk mixture, eggs and 1 1/2 cups of flour until blended. Then I stirred in the remaining flour a half cup at a time.  Once the dough came together I rolled it out onto a lightly floured surface and kneaded it until smooth and elastic which took about 10 minutes. I lightly oiled a large bowl and rolled the dough in the bowl until it was covered in the oil. Then I covered  the bowl with a plastic cap ( you can also use  a damp cloth) and let it rise in a warm place until doubled in size which took about an 1 hour.

While the dough was  rising I melted a  3/4 cup of butter in a small saucepan over medium heat. Next I stirred a  3/4 cup brown sugar, whisking until smooth. Then I poured it into a greased 9 X 13 inch baking pan before sprinkling the bottom of the pan with 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. I combined the remaining 3/4 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts, and cinnamon and set aside. I preheat the oven to 375° F. And I rolled the dough out onto a lightly floured surface into an 18 x 14 inch rectangle. Then I brushed the dough with 2 tablespoons of melted butter and sprinkled the brown sugar and cinnamon mixture leaving a half inch border uncovered around the dough. 

Starting at the long side I tightly rolled up the dough and cut the rolls with a  serrated knife. I was able to cut 14 sections of dough,then I placed the cut side down and covered with a  damp cloth and let rise until doubled in volume. Next I brushed the rolls with the remaining melted butter before baking. I did forget to add parchment  paper  ( to prevent sticking ) before  sprinkling the walnut sugar mixture in the bottom of the pan, so I had to make an additional  mixture, heat it up and drizzle over the baked sticky buns.

Thanks for stopping by.

signature

Recipe from:http://allrecipes.com/recipe/21461/ooey-gooey-cinnamon-buns/

Leave a Reply

