Fried Shrimp with Bolognese Sauce

fullsizeoutput_994

I eat a lot of fried shrimp and really do enjoy them but I wanted something different but had no idea. While standing in front of the freezer trying to come up with a recipe my eyes connected with the Bolognese sauce. The sauce was brought weeks ago from Trader Joe’s and my only plan was to add some beef and call it supper. But the moment I saw it I knew I had a recipe but of course I didn’t want to spend half of my evening preparing a meal. I was really glad I had that frozen Bolognese sauce. And taking the time to allow the shrimp to marinate in the beer brought an enticing flavor to the entire dish ( I used Honey Brown Beer). This meal would be great with buttery steamed rice or just as a seafood stew with a slice of ciabatta bread.

Prep time:  20 to 30 minutes            Cook time: 30 minutes          Yield: 2 to 4 servings

Ingredients:

8 to 10  large breaded shrimp

1/2 container of frozen Bolognese sauce

2 to  3 cups of Cracker Meal Seafood Fry Mix

1/4 cup of cooking oil

2 cups of chopped broccoli

1 cup of  chopped mushrooms

1  large yellow onion chopped

3 medium carrots chopped

2 to 3 tablespoons of corn starch

2  1/2 cups of chicken stock

1  cup of white wine

1  1/2 cups of Beer

1/4 cup of parsley chopped

1/4 cup of  thyme chopped

Directions:

Devein shrimp and allow to marinate in beer for at least 30 minutes while chopping vegetables. Next remove shells and dredge the shrimp through the Cracker Meal Seafood fry Mix until coated then return to fridge until time to cook. Cook vegetables and frozen bolognese sauce in 2 cups of chicken stock (do not add mushrooms) on low to medium heat, stir sauce to prevent burning, I prefer to use a cast iron skillet. In a separate pan add wine, cornstarch and remaining chicken stock and cook on low heat and stir until thicken, finally add mushrooms to mixture. Combine mushroom sauce to vegetable sauce  then add breaded shrimp and sprinkle with parsley and thyme. Season for taste.

Thanks for stopping by.

Beverly & Denise

Leave a Reply

