Sweet Potato Cheesecake Bar

fullsizeoutput_b0e

Hi everyone, another vegetable in dessert post. The original recipe was pumpkin and graham crackers but I had sweet potatoes and ginger snaps and knew this would be a great alternative. So I quickly came up with a tasty southern treat.

 

Cook Time:  1 hour and 20 minutes        Prep Time:  2 hours and 30 minutes            Yield: 12 Cheesecake Bars

Ingredients:          

1 1/2 cups of ginger snaps

1/2 cup of melted butter

2 packages of cream cheese

1 cup of raw sugar

2 eggs

2 large sweet potatoes

2 teaspoons of pie spice

Directions:

First I crushed the ginger snaps and added 1/4 cup of melted butter in the bowl then with my fingers I pressed the ginger snaps in the bottom of two 11 x 4″ loaf pans . Next I boiled the sweet potatoes for about 30 minutes until soft enough to mash. With the paddle attachment of the mixing bowl I added the cream cheese and remaining butter followed by the eggs, raw sugar and pie spice and mixed until all was light and fluffy. Once I cover the crust with half the mixture then I added the mashed sweet potatoes to the remaining  mixture and used that as my topping. I refrigerated the dessert for at least 30 minutes before placing it in a preheated oven at 300° F  for 50 minutes until ingredients was set. Finally the oven was cut off and dessert was left to cool down for at least 1 hour with the door propped. From there the dessert was returned to the fridge for at least another hour before serving.

Thanks for stopping by.

Beverly & Denise

Leave a Reply

