Vegetarian Frittata

JPEG image-6A13CA0A781C-1

Recently I decided to join Weight Watchers and realized that I needed to change my food choices.  One in particular was my lack of cooking at home.  With that in mind, this morning I decided to make a vegetarian frittata. I got the recipe from Weight Watchers and realized that this recipe had me baking the frittata instead of frying it.  This recipe is similar to the traditional Italian Frittata but I chose crumbles (a soy based food) as an alternative to my regular cheese and ham omelette.

Cook time: 10 minutes            Prep time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:

4 stalks of  roughly chopped asparagus

1 cup of ground crumbles

4 large eggs

2 large egg whites

1/2 cup of chopped Colby Cheese

2 Tbsp of finely chopped scallions

Sea Salt

Black  Pepper

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400° F. In a large bowl beat eggs and egg whites. Add chopped asparagus and scallions. Spray cast iron skillet with cooking oil pour egg mixture in skillet and cook until partially set, about 5 minutes. Next sprinkle with cheese and cook an additional 5 minutes until cheese softens and eggs are firm. Remove from oven and allow dish to rest for one minute. Add salt and pepper for taste than cut into wedges and serve.

Thanks for stopping by.

deesig

Leave a Reply

